Getting nervous…

It’s now less than 10 days until I board the plane to begin my adventure and the nerves are starting to set in!! I’ve now had my project confirmed – it’s called Alternativas y Oportunidades. It is focused around helping children and youths who are forced to live and work on the streets of Tegucigalpa (the capital of Honduras). The project teaches them about issues that affect them, such as HIV/AIDS, human rights, drugs, violence and gangs. Within this I will be able to choose a group to work with (children or teenagers) and help with organising activities for them to help their learning. I’m really excited to get stuck in but definitely need to improve my Spanish before I can be any real help so hopefully I’ll learn quite quickly… 

I have been getting quite nervous about the prospect of being thrown into a completely different country and such an important project but I also found out about my host family and they look amazing! So I’m really excited to get to know them and learn about the Honduran culture.

I’ve started saying my goodbyes now (see pic!) as well but it hasn’t been too emotional yet as I just can’t really believe I’m going… I’m sure there will be a good cry at the airport though! But I just wanted to say a quick thank you to everyone who has donated or made an effort to say bye and wish me luck, it really means so much! 

Image

Leave a Reply

